Lance Foster

I am the THPO (Tribal Historic Preservation Officer) for my tribe, the Iowa Tribe of Kansas and Nebraska, a federally recognized American Indian (Native American) tribe. I work on helping to preserve and advocate for ancestral sites and burials in our homelands, which covered a large area in ancient times, and was centered in the state of Iowa.

Due to a series of treaties and the Indian Removal Act of 1830, we were moved onto a reservation in Indian Country (now Kansas, Nebraska, and Oklahoma) in 1836. Our reservation is bordered by the Big Nemaha and Missouri rivers.

I am also helping preserve and teach our tribal language, known to linguists as Chiwere, and to developing a museum and culture center here on the reservation.

Most of my time and energy is focused on those things nowadays, but I am also an artist (see the painting in my photo) and a published author (The Indians of Iowa). My undergraduate degree is from the University of Montana (I was raised in Montana) with a B.A. in Anthropology and Native American Studies. My graduate degree is from Iowa State University, and I have two different masters’ degrees, one in Anthropology and one in Landscape Architecture. In the past I have worked for the U.S. Forest Service, the National Park Service, the Office of Hawaiian Affairs, and the University of Montana.

Leave a Reply

